The MIE Racing Honda Team is in Italy this week, at the Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli, where round four of the 2022 Superbike World Championship is about to play out.

Riders Leandro ‘Tati’ Mercado and Hafizh Syahrin had some challenging moments at the latest Estoril round, but both riders left the track feeling that some progress had been made. The duo is therefore confident that the Misano track, one they both enjoy, can bring more positive results with the right step-by-step approach.

The Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli was initially opened in 1972 before featuring on the WorldSBK calendar for the first time in 1991. The Superbikes have been regular visitors to the Rimini Riviera ever since, with the event regularly taking place during the summer season. The track measures 4.226 kilometres in length and comprises 10 right-hand turns and 6 left-handers.

Leandro Mercado

“I really like Misano, and it’ll be great to race in Italy again, an event that I consider something of a home round together with the Argentinean one. We missed it last year and it’s one I enjoy, also because there is always a lot of support with loads of fans. We’ll be working hard right from the start to try and take another step forward. It was good to have a couple of weeks’ rest after the Estoril crash and hopefully I’ll be in good shape with my shoulder when the action gets underway on Friday.”

Hafizh Syahrin

“I know the track well having competed here in the past in the world championship. This will be my first visit with the Superbike, but I know the layout and have always had good feeling here. So I hope we can work methodically, do well, and score some positive results over the course of the weekend.”

Track Information:

Country: Italy
Name: Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli
Length: 4.226 km
Pole position: left

Race distance: 21 laps/88.746 km

SBK RECORDS: Best lap – Rinaldi (Ducati) 1’34.356 (2021). Superpole – Rea (Kawasaki) 1’33.416 (2021).


Race 1 – 1. Rinaldi (Ducati); 2. Razgatlioglu (Yamaha); 3. Rea (Kawasaki).

Superpole race – 1. Rinaldi (Ducati); 2. Razgatlioglu (Yamaha); 3. Rea (Kawasaki).

Race 2 – 1. Razgatlioglu (Yamaha); Rinaldi (Ducati); 3. Rea (Kawasaki)